DreamGEAR Xbox One 3.0 USB Hub Review

DreamGEAR Xbox One 3.0 USB Hub Review

  • dreamGear Xbox One USB 3.0 Hub
  • GameWare USB 4 Port Hub 3.0 (Xbox One & PS4)
  • Top 5 dreamGEAR Xbox One 3 0 USB Hub Video Games Review
  • Xbox One Hard Drive Upgrade | Collective Minds Media Hub
  • Add USB Ports To Your Xbox One!
  • UNITEK Premium USB 3.0 7 Port Portable Aluminum Hub Review
  • Unboxing: Collective Mind’s Xbox One Media Hub (HDD Enclosure & USB Hub)
  • Xbox One Media Hub – Review
  • Hama USB Hub for Xbox One
  • xbox one storage and media hub
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $24.99 (as of January 21, 2017 10:18 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

The USB 3.0 center provides you with easy and hassle-free access to 4 USB ports for your Xbox One console. It works 10X faster than traditional USB 2.0 hubs.

Just link the DreamGear hub to your Xbox One console utilizing the USB 3.0 cable and you are ready to go. The LED indication on the hub lets you keep in mind that you are powered up and prepared to charge and sync up to 4 USB devices. Likewise compatible with other gaming consoles.

Quality Control Test

So the first thing I did after hooking the hub up is to plug in a whole bunch of devices to it. I plugged in 2 iPhones, 1 iPad, and an Xbox controller with a play and charge kit. Everything worked great. Devices started charging and I used the controller to play a game.

No issues at all and I was kind of impressed for 15 bucks.

Dream Gear USB review

Pros vs Cons

Pro’s

    Super easy to hook up (dont even need directions)
    It works as advertised
    Allows you to have more USB ports on the side of your Xbox
    Will work on Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS3, PS4, or a PC

Pro’s

    Wish they included something to fasten it to the Xbox
    It’s a bit too lite weight
    The connecting cable is a little short

Makes Your USB Ports So Much Easier To Access

It really makes life easier having 4 usb ports on the side of your Xbox. I have no idea why Microsoft didnt include more USB ports on the console. I really wasn’t even sure how much I would use this device, but know I am not sure how I didn’t buy this sooner. It has become a centralized place for us to charge devices in my house and I don’t even need to get to the back of my console.

My Final Thoughts

While it does come across as a super simple device it had no issue handling anything I plugged into it. There are more expensive USB hubs for Xbox One, but I choose this one mostly because it was inexpensive. The only downside to it is that it is extremely lite weight, so when you plug devices into it the hub will move around so you need to hold onto it to secure it while you plug in.

Other than that this is a great peripheral and I am really happy with the purchase. If you are looking for something that is plug in and play that adds multiple high speed USB 3.0 ports to your console, you should consider this inexpensive solution from DreamGEAR.

Official XRP Rating 4.0
Red Buy Now

Check Out USB Ports for Xbox One at Amazon

Customer Reviews

GREAT USB 3.0 Expansion device for Xbox One Owners!

13 people found this helpful.
 on July 13, 2014
By Truth seeker
Great product and a must of Xbox One owners. I bought this, because I hate using the USB ports located in the back of the system and there are no USB ports located on the front of the system and only 1 port on the side of the system.

This thing is DREAMgear for sure!

16 people found this helpful.
 on December 23, 2013
By Christopher
I was able to take the side port on my Xbox one and turn it into four ports that are actually capable of charging my iphone on the front! PERFECT purchase. The only thing I would say is that I’d prefer it if the item weighed a little bit more to give it more stability when placed on the top left side of the Xbox One.

worked great

11 people found this helpful.
 on January 7, 2014
By Amy S Kinser
Worked great. I only currently have two controllers but it charges both very well and also runs my sons sky lander portal at the same time. While I haven’t needed it, please be aware, there is a note in the instructions that some devices may need more power. Thus, there is a port for a separate AC (5V 2 A) adapter. The AC adapter is not included and if you need it, you will need to purchase separately. Again, I haven’t needed that, but I haven’t tried to plug in anything too crazy!

Performs well for an unpowered hub, tiny and very light

2 people found this helpful.
 on March 17, 2015
By Tom
This is a four port USB hub with a 5th port to connect to your PC, game console or anything else that takes a USB 2 or 3 connection. That one port will then allow you to connect 4 devices at USB 3 speed if you’ve plugged it into a USB 3 host port, otherwise it should work on anything that supports USB 2. You could use this on an Xbox 360/One, a PS3/4 or a computer.

Works…

5 people found this helpful.
 on June 8, 2014
By Terry
Works as it says. I have it plugged into my XBOX One and am able to charge my controller when the USB is plugged into this device. It is compact too which is nice because due to heating concerns I try to keep the area around my XB1 as clutter free as possible. My only complaint is that I can’t update the controller when the USB is plugged into this device though. Minor nuisance and I would definitely recommend this product to others with an XB1.

This is a good little unit and does exactly what it says

4 people found this helpful.
 on October 26, 2014
By P. M. Bego
This is a good little unit and does exactly what it says. You connect it to the USB port on an XBox One (either the side or back port) and this thing gives you 4 ports to use for connecting controllers or other accessories, or providing limited charge power to any USB device. I saw “limited charge power” because this does not come with an external power supply, so if you plug in 4 things at once that all need power, it’s possible that it won’t be able to provide that. That is true of any USB Hub — I haven’t actually run into that problem in my use of this one. You can add an external power supply, though ones does not come with it. If you have older USB hubs, it’s possible the old power supply would work, but you have to make sure the connector matches.

DreamGEAR Saves the Day

2 people found this helpful.
 on September 29, 2015
By Stlwc77
Shame on XBOX One for failing to put enough ports on their system but the good folks at DreamGEAR have found a way to fix your problem. This is a must have if you have multiple accessories such as chargers for your wireless controlers.

Good product.

One person found this helpful.
 on July 15, 2015
By Timothy Robinson
The cable to it is a bit heavy but, could be due to the possible load. I used some sticky sided velcro to attach it to the top of my xbox. Nice product though. The outlets are NOT upside down like some others, and it is a true 3.0 USB.

DreamGEAR Xbox One 3.0 USB Hub

DreamGear USB 3.0 Hub ReviewRed Buy Now

Have you tried a USB hub or any other Xbox One Peripherals, let me know in the comments below.

DreamGEAR Xbox One 3.0 USB Hub

Rated 4/5 based on 1 review

There are no comments yet, add one below.

Leave a Reply


Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

*