ASTRO Gaming A40 TR Headset Review | $250 Best Headset for Xbox One

ASTRO Gaming A40 TR Headset Review | $250 Best Headset for Xbox One

  • Astro A40 TR – Unboxing & Review (Xbox One(S) – Mix Amp M80)
  • Review & Mic Test- Xbox One Astro A40 + Mixamp M80 Second Generation Gaming Headset
  • Best Gaming Headset? Astro A40 TR Headset with Mod Kit
  • Checking Out PS4 & Xbox One’s A40TR Astro Gaming Headset & Amp – IGN Access
  • A40 TR + MIXAMP™ M80 for XBOX One | ASTRO GAMING
  • Astro A40 TR Review (Xbox One And PC)
  • Most Powerful Gaming Headset!? (Astro A40 TR Unboxing/Review/Setup)
  • Setup A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro TR with Xbox One | ASTRO Gaming
  • Astro A40 TR Review | 4 months Later
  • Astro A40 vs A50: What’s the best Gaming Headset? (PLUS HUGE GIVEAWAY)
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $249.99 $249.99 (as of September 23, 2017 1:14 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

As a former audio engineer I have high standards when it comes to headphones. I’ve tried’em all from Bose to TurtleBeach and for a long time thought nothing would ever replace my Polk Audio 4Shot headphones.

That was until of course I tried the Astro Gaming A40 TR Headphones for Xbox One. This headset is the most current offering for x box console owners and they perform phenomenally in almost every single aspect.

At a price point around $250 you would expect them too, but to be honest that is a fair priced headset. They are a significantly improved version from the previous A40’s Astro put out for Xbox.

The A40 TR’s don’t seem to have any of the issues that the previous version experienced. Now the audio is crisp and clear through the dolby enabled speakers and the live chat. Drop outs won’t occur on this set of headphones and you can even use them semi-wirelessly if you have them plugged into your controller via the stereo adapter. The only downside to hooking them up to the controller is that you loose the surround sound effect that is driven by plugging them into the MixAmp Pro TR that they come packaged with. They will still produce high quality audio in stereo via the controller, but not surround sound.

Astro Gaming A40TR Review

The MixAmp Pro TR Puts Your Xbox One In Surround Sound

MixAmp Pro TR ReviewUsing the MixAmp is the best solution and it is plug in and play. The one downside to it is that the cable is a little bit short compared to previous models of the MixAmp. This might end uo being an issue if you play games on your Xbox and sit far away from your television.

The only real con of the MixAmp pro though from a technical perspective is that it will only be compatible with the Xbox One and Xbox One S. If you have a PS3 or PS4, you would need to shell out more money for a new MixAmp.

So while it performs great it’s not the best for someone looking for a multi-platform solution.

Best Headphones For Xbox One and Xbox One S

Every aspect of this headset is rock solid! They are constructed well and are a really impressive looking set of cans. The set really hugs your head nice and snug, but doesn’t squeeze the life out of your face and the ear pieces have a nice high end cushiony feel that will make hours of wearing them feel comfortable. These are by far the best headphones for Xbox 1 and are one of my favorite accessories for my console.

A40 TR Headset Add On Mods

A40TR Mod ReviewAnother cool aspect of the A-40 is the add on mod kit you can get which turns them from open to closed back. You can pick up the mod for about $60 and it lets you switch the pad on the headband and the ear pieces for a thicker faux leather version. the advantage you get with this is that it eliminates excess noise in the room. Even with the mod kit on, the headphones remain comfortable. the mod kit is not a must own, but i would recommend it if you are normally playing games in a noisy environment.

There is also a mic that comes with the mod kit. It is uni-directional which means it will only pick up audio from directly in front of it. this also helps eliminate extra room noise coming through on your live chat microphone.

My Final Opinion on The A40TR Headset

This set of headphones from Astro Gaming is among the best audio solutions you can get as a gamer. They do a great job of simulating surround sound in both movies and games while also producing a very clean sounding chat mic.

The MixAmp Pro TR is perfect not just for audiophiles but for live streamers who want lag-free and interference free operation. The MixAmp allows you to control every input and output so that you can fine tune everything to your specific recording setup. If you are in the market for a headset this is the pair to get.

<Official XRP Rating 4.5
Red Buy Now

Check Out Xbox One Headphones at Amazon

$211.00
(as of 14-09-2017 05:22:38 UTC - Details)
$130.00
(as of 09-09-2017 14:19:54 UTC - Details)
$60.00
(as of 18-08-2017 06:20:39 UTC - Details)
$60.00
(as of 21-09-2017 01:21:39 UTC - Details)

Product Details

  • Domestic Shipping: Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.
  • International Shipping: This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More
  • ASIN: B014H2T84K
  • Product Dimensions: 13.8 x 9.1 x 4.3 inches ; 4.5 pounds
  • Media: Video Game
  • Release Date: October 8, 2015

Customer Reviews

A good all-in-one solution for gaming.

124 people found this helpful.
 on December 28, 2015
By nightshade
Firstly, I wanted to spend some time with this product because this is my first Astro product of any kind. I picked this up on a black Friday sale from Amazon because I really wanted the mixamp TR, but the price was very good for the A40 headset. Before I go over my pros and cons, I wanted to give a quick background of headsets I have and how the A40 compares to those headsets. For comparison purposes I mostly used wired headsets through the Mixamp TR with the exception of using a Sony Gold wireless headset to compare just the A40 without the mixamp. The headsets I used with the mixamp are the Kingston Hyper X Cloud II’s, Audio Technica M50x’s, Sony Gold’s, and the Turtle Beach 420x. In my subjective versus mode, I found that the A40 with the mixamp (after a few custom eqs) was slightly better than the Sony Golds and much better than the TB 420x. With regards to the Cloud II’s, the mixamp really has more room to push the 53mm drivers of the Cloud II’s and the M50x’s simply have a more defined soundstage than the A40’s. To be fair, the A40’s do not claim to be a hifi audiophile headset and in turn, these game just fine with comfort, quality, and durability. Out of the box I did have to totally redo my eq settings, otherwise I would have gotten immediate buyers remorse. Here are my pros and cons in my experience with the A40 and Mixamp TR.

Excellent 7.1 audio, open back ear cups, and hidden Sidetone (mic monitor) feature

7 people found this helpful.
 on October 31, 2016
By J. Ofalla
I’ve been using thes Astro A40 TRs with Mixamp Pro for 2 weeks now. The sound is excellent and I can hear fine detail with the 7.1 audio. I like the open back (open ear cup) design of the A40 headset. I tried using the Turtle Beach XO Four but couldn’t stand the closed ear cup design. I know some people prefer noise isolation but I feel uncomfortable not being able to hear anything outside. I also like to hear myself speak so I was happy to find out there is a feature called “Sidetone” that can be activated using the Windows/Mac software designed to configure the Mixamp via USB. It is disabled by default but with the help of Astro support they explained this setting is made in PC mode then carries over to Console mode.

Awesome sound but some iffy hardware and specs

2 people found this helpful.
 on January 5, 2017
By Amazon Customer
I upgraded to these after Christmas from a pair of Turtle Beach XO4 headphones when the price dropped. About a year ago I planned on getting the A40 with the MixAmp M80 as they were on sale at best buy, but decided not to because I had heard about how much of a difference the MixAmp pro TR makes.

Great, so far…

 on September 3, 2017
By SilverGhost
So far, so good. I bought the PS4 version of these, and discovered I only had a few newer games for PS44. Those sounded nice enough, but nothing near surround. Only 1 or 2 of those games had a surround headphone setting, so I returned them. I ordered these, crossing my fingers. I only have both platforms as some games are proprietary to one maker. Once you buy this kit, you can buy just the Mixamp for the other, using the same headphones. I have a super gaming headset I’ve been using on both systems, but stereo only. I grabbed my newest game, Battlefield 1, to try this Xbox kit. It’s a very noticeable improvement over the stero ones. I’ll be grabbing each of my other Xbox games to try. With any luck, some will have a surround option. The wires are kinda clunky with my setup, where sit about 10 feet from the tv and the Xbox. These wires are long enough, just not clean and neat. I read the reviews on the wireless version of these. The 5 star ratings on those about half the number these got. So no wireless for me. It’s a shame they won’t just put the chip for both platforms in this thing instead of forcing you to buy to if you must have both. I like having a volume control on this Amp, no more looking inside a game for simple volume changes.

Great sound quality

One person found this helpful.
 on January 18, 2016
By Nathaniel Clarke Sphar
Great sound quality. Included cables definitely long enough for an average living room setup. Both components look GREAT.

I was torn between getting a nice sound system in my living room and living with …

2 people found this helpful.
 on October 3, 2016
By Chad R.
I was torn between getting a nice sound system in my living room and living with the cheap headset that comes with the xbox one S. I decided to get these and they are great! The surround sound is awesome for gaming and the microphone has great quality.

Amazing, amazing, amazing

2 people found this helpful.
 on February 27, 2016
By Tison
I can’t say this enough, this is hands down, the best headset i have owned. I had the xo seven pro before this and well those hurt my head after long periods of gaming. I have looked into a ton of headsets before i bought these. I finally made a decision and well, glad i chose these 🙂

Worth Every Penny

6 people found this helpful.
 on October 20, 2016
By Marlon
What a fantastic piece of hardware. I had a turtle beach XO seven pro that I received for Christmas last year. (had it for only 10 months) The chat adapter that plugged into the controller kept dying and forcing my controller to reboot. Then the headset itself eventually died when I lost my left cup sound. Needless to say, I will never purchase Turtle Beach again.

New Astro Fan…

12 people found this helpful.
 on March 5, 2016
By W. Conrad
I’ve been a turtle beach headset guy for years. I’ve owned probably 4 different turtle beach headsets myself and more than 10 when I include my wife and kids who also game.

Speed Freek Xbox One

ASTRO Gaming A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro TR for Xbox One ReviewRed Buy Now

What are your thoughts of the A40 TR’s from Astro Gaming? Let me know in the comments.

Astro Gaming A40 TR Headset Xbox One

Rated 4.5/5 based on 1 review

There are no comments yet, add one below.

Leave a Reply


Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

*