ASTRO Gaming A40 TR Headset Review | $250 Best Headset for Xbox One

ASTRO Gaming A40 TR Headset Review | $250 Best Headset for Xbox One

  • Review & Mic Test- Xbox One Astro A40 + Mixamp M80 Second Generation Gaming Headset
  • Astro A40 and Mixamp Pro TR Unboxing & Review (Xbox One)
  • Astro A40 TR Review [Xbox One]
  • Astro A40 TR – Unboxing & Review (Xbox One(S) – Mix Amp M80)
  • Astro A40 TR Review (Xbox One And PC)
  • Picked up an Astro A40 headset for Xbox One, what do I think of it?
  • New 2015 Astro A40 TR Edition Unboxing! (Newest Headset)
  • 10 Best Xbox One Headsets 2017
  • ASTRO Gaming A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro (Gen 2.) Review | PS4 Xbox One PC Gaming Headset
  • Astro A40 vs A50: What’s the best Gaming Headset? (PLUS HUGE GIVEAWAY)
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $249.99 $249.98 You save: $0.01 (%). (as of June 22, 2017 11:14 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

As a former audio engineer I have high standards when it comes to headphones. I’ve tried’em all from Bose to TurtleBeach and for a long time thought nothing would ever replace my Polk Audio 4Shot headphones.

That was until of course I tried the Astro Gaming A40 TR Headphones for Xbox One. This headset is the most current offering for x box console owners and they perform phenomenally in almost every single aspect.

At a price point around $250 you would expect them too, but to be honest that is a fair priced headset. They are a significantly improved version from the previous A40’s Astro put out for Xbox.

The A40 TR’s don’t seem to have any of the issues that the previous version experienced. Now the audio is crisp and clear through the dolby enabled speakers and the live chat. Drop outs won’t occur on this set of headphones and you can even use them semi-wirelessly if you have them plugged into your controller via the stereo adapter. The only downside to hooking them up to the controller is that you loose the surround sound effect that is driven by plugging them into the MixAmp Pro TR that they come packaged with. They will still produce high quality audio in stereo via the controller, but not surround sound.

Astro Gaming A40TR Review

The MixAmp Pro TR Puts Your Xbox One In Surround Sound

MixAmp Pro TR ReviewUsing the MixAmp is the best solution and it is plug in and play. The one downside to it is that the cable is a little bit short compared to previous models of the MixAmp. This might end uo being an issue if you play games on your Xbox and sit far away from your television.

The only real con of the MixAmp pro though from a technical perspective is that it will only be compatible with the Xbox One and Xbox One S. If you have a PS3 or PS4, you would need to shell out more money for a new MixAmp.

So while it performs great it’s not the best for someone looking for a multi-platform solution.

Best Headphones For Xbox One and Xbox One S

Every aspect of this headset is rock solid! They are constructed well and are a really impressive looking set of cans. The set really hugs your head nice and snug, but doesn’t squeeze the life out of your face and the ear pieces have a nice high end cushiony feel that will make hours of wearing them feel comfortable. These are by far the best headphones for Xbox 1 and are one of my favorite accessories for my console.

A40 TR Headset Add On Mods

A40TR Mod ReviewAnother cool aspect of the A-40 is the add on mod kit you can get which turns them from open to closed back. You can pick up the mod for about $60 and it lets you switch the pad on the headband and the ear pieces for a thicker faux leather version. the advantage you get with this is that it eliminates excess noise in the room. Even with the mod kit on, the headphones remain comfortable. the mod kit is not a must own, but i would recommend it if you are normally playing games in a noisy environment.

There is also a mic that comes with the mod kit. It is uni-directional which means it will only pick up audio from directly in front of it. this also helps eliminate extra room noise coming through on your live chat microphone.

My Final Opinion on The A40TR Headset

This set of headphones from Astro Gaming is among the best audio solutions you can get as a gamer. They do a great job of simulating surround sound in both movies and games while also producing a very clean sounding chat mic.

The MixAmp Pro TR is perfect not just for audiophiles but for live streamers who want lag-free and interference free operation. The MixAmp allows you to control every input and output so that you can fine tune everything to your specific recording setup. If you are in the market for a headset this is the pair to get.

<Official XRP Rating 4.5
Red Buy Now

Check Out Xbox One Headphones at Amazon

$195.00
(as of 03-06-2017 23:20:27 UTC - Details)
$129.99
(as of 21-02-2017 12:22:12 UTC - Details)
$59.85
(as of 20-06-2017 13:20:30 UTC - Details)
$69.99
(as of 14-06-2017 04:20:05 UTC - Details)

Product Details

  • Domestic Shipping: Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.
  • International Shipping: This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More
  • ASIN: B014H2T84K
  • Product Dimensions: 13.8 x 9.1 x 4.3 inches ; 4.5 pounds
  • Media: Video Game
  • Release Date: October 8, 2015

Customer Reviews

A good all-in-one solution for gaming.

90 people found this helpful.
 on December 28, 2015
By nightshade
Firstly, I wanted to spend some time with this product because this is my first Astro product of any kind. I picked this up on a black Friday sale from Amazon because I really wanted the mixamp TR, but the price was very good for the A40 headset. Before I go over my pros and cons, I wanted to give a quick background of headsets I have and how the A40 compares to those headsets. For comparison purposes I mostly used wired headsets through the Mixamp TR with the exception of using a Sony Gold wireless headset to compare just the A40 without the mixamp. The headsets I used with the mixamp are the Kingston Hyper X Cloud II’s, Audio Technica M50x’s, Sony Gold’s, and the Turtle Beach 420x. In my subjective versus mode, I found that the A40 with the mixamp (after a few custom eqs) was slightly better than the Sony Golds and much better than the TB 420x. With regards to the Cloud II’s, the mixamp really has more room to push the 53mm drivers of the Cloud II’s and the M50x’s simply have a more defined soundstage than the A40’s. To be fair, the A40’s do not claim to be a hifi audiophile headset and in turn, these game just fine with comfort, quality, and durability. Out of the box I did have to totally redo my eq settings, otherwise I would have gotten immediate buyers remorse. Here are my pros and cons in my experience with the A40 and Mixamp TR.

New Astro Fan…

10 people found this helpful.
 on March 5, 2016
By W. Conrad
I’ve been a turtle beach headset guy for years. I’ve owned probably 4 different turtle beach headsets myself and more than 10 when I include my wife and kids who also game.

Excellent 7.1 audio, open back ear cups, and hidden Sidetone (mic monitor) feature

5 people found this helpful.
 on October 31, 2016
By J. Ofalla
I’ve been using thes Astro A40 TRs with Mixamp Pro for 2 weeks now. The sound is excellent and I can hear fine detail with the 7.1 audio. I like the open back (open ear cup) design of the A40 headset. I tried using the Turtle Beach XO Four but couldn’t stand the closed ear cup design. I know some people prefer noise isolation but I feel uncomfortable not being able to hear anything outside. I also like to hear myself speak so I was happy to find out there is a feature called “Sidetone” that can be activated using the Windows/Mac software designed to configure the Mixamp via USB. It is disabled by default but with the help of Astro support they explained this setting is made in PC mode then carries over to Console mode.

Worth Every Penny

5 people found this helpful.
 on October 20, 2016
By Marlon
What a fantastic piece of hardware. I had a turtle beach XO seven pro that I received for Christmas last year. (had it for only 10 months) The chat adapter that plugged into the controller kept dying and forcing my controller to reboot. Then the headset itself eventually died when I lost my left cup sound. Needless to say, I will never purchase Turtle Beach again.

Upgrade from XB1 A40s w/ M80

32 people found this helpful.
 on October 11, 2015
By G
Just got these to replace my A40s teal/white with m80…I am can already tell the difference between the stereo sound of the A40s w/ m80 versus these with Dolby Digital. These are by far much better quality and cancel sound better cutting out other noise. One tip with these though make sure you plug them into the front USB slot on your Xbox One or else it will not detect the microphone properly. These are well worth the price if you game as much as I do. Astro has been the dominate brand for gaming headsets for years and will continue to with products like this one. You don’t have to deal with any chat adapter or M80 plugging into your controller. This headset is completely apart from your controller which is nice so you don’t have extra stuff to worry about attached to the controller. This is a solid headset overall. It can easily be used with your PC as well. 10/10 would buy again.

You will hear everything.

 on March 24, 2017
By Caleb Morganagain
I got these mainly for R6 Seige and let me tell you, these make the WORLD of a difference. The sound is amazing, I can hear people walking around rooms away. I can hear breaching charges being put on walls before they blow up, fuze charges, even sledge when he grabs his hammer before he even hits a wall. My performance has gone up 10 fold just from the audio these put out and the mixamp lets me tune my sound to However​ I like. Definitely definitely recommend if you are looking for good gaming headphones that are very comfy, great quality, and outstanding sound and mic performance.

Great Sound, Great Amazon buy!

 on March 3, 2017
By Tiffany D.
Perfect for the gamer!! My son loves the sound quality and noise cancellation feature. Definitely thankful I purchased from Amazon who truly does stand behind what they sell. Overall , I am 100% happy with my purchase.

Good headset

 on March 16, 2017
By Amazon Customer
Great headset however I received mine with a faulty cable to the headset. I ordered a replacement so I hope that fixes it!

Amazing

 on March 21, 2017
By Joshua Millet
Sound is really good. Easy to setup up. Perfect for gaming.

Speed Freek Xbox One

ASTRO Gaming A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro TR for Xbox One ReviewRed Buy Now

What are your thoughts of the A40 TR’s from Astro Gaming? Let me know in the comments.

Astro Gaming A40 TR Headset Xbox One

Rated 4.5/5 based on 1 review

There are no comments yet, add one below.

Leave a Reply


Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

*