ASTRO Gaming A40 TR Headset Review | $250 Best Headset for Xbox One

ASTRO Gaming A40 TR Headset Review | $250 Best Headset for Xbox One

  • Astro A40 TR Review | 4 months Later
  • Review & Mic Test- Xbox One Astro A40 + Mixamp M80 Second Generation Gaming Headset
  • Astro A40 TR Review [Xbox One]
  • Astro A40 TR Review (Xbox One And PC)
  • Astro A40 and Mixamp Pro TR Unboxing & Review (Xbox One)
  • New Astro A40 with Mixamp M80 Review Xbox One Edition Headset 2015
  • Setup A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro TR with Xbox One | ASTRO Gaming
  • ASTRO A40 TR UNBOXING – 4K
  • ASTRO Gaming A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro (Gen 2.) Review | PS4 Xbox One PC Gaming Headset
  • Astro A40 vs A50: What’s the best Gaming Headset? (PLUS HUGE GIVEAWAY)
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $229.94 $229.94 (as of March 22, 2017 10:49 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

As a former audio engineer I have high standards when it comes to headphones. I’ve tried’em all from Bose to TurtleBeach and for a long time thought nothing would ever replace my Polk Audio 4Shot headphones.

That was until of course I tried the Astro Gaming A40 TR Headphones for Xbox One. This headset is the most current offering for x box console owners and they perform phenomenally in almost every single aspect.

At a price point around $250 you would expect them too, but to be honest that is a fair priced headset. They are a significantly improved version from the previous A40’s Astro put out for Xbox.

The A40 TR’s don’t seem to have any of the issues that the previous version experienced. Now the audio is crisp and clear through the dolby enabled speakers and the live chat. Drop outs won’t occur on this set of headphones and you can even use them semi-wirelessly if you have them plugged into your controller via the stereo adapter. The only downside to hooking them up to the controller is that you loose the surround sound effect that is driven by plugging them into the MixAmp Pro TR that they come packaged with. They will still produce high quality audio in stereo via the controller, but not surround sound.

Astro Gaming A40TR Review

The MixAmp Pro TR Puts Your Xbox One In Surround Sound

MixAmp Pro TR ReviewUsing the MixAmp is the best solution and it is plug in and play. The one downside to it is that the cable is a little bit short compared to previous models of the MixAmp. This might end uo being an issue if you play games on your Xbox and sit far away from your television.

The only real con of the MixAmp pro though from a technical perspective is that it will only be compatible with the Xbox One and Xbox One S. If you have a PS3 or PS4, you would need to shell out more money for a new MixAmp.

So while it performs great it’s not the best for someone looking for a multi-platform solution.

Best Headphones For Xbox One and Xbox One S

Every aspect of this headset is rock solid! They are constructed well and are a really impressive looking set of cans. The set really hugs your head nice and snug, but doesn’t squeeze the life out of your face and the ear pieces have a nice high end cushiony feel that will make hours of wearing them feel comfortable. These are by far the best headphones for Xbox 1 and are one of my favorite accessories for my console.

A40 TR Headset Add On Mods

A40TR Mod ReviewAnother cool aspect of the A-40 is the add on mod kit you can get which turns them from open to closed back. You can pick up the mod for about $60 and it lets you switch the pad on the headband and the ear pieces for a thicker faux leather version. the advantage you get with this is that it eliminates excess noise in the room. Even with the mod kit on, the headphones remain comfortable. the mod kit is not a must own, but i would recommend it if you are normally playing games in a noisy environment.

There is also a mic that comes with the mod kit. It is uni-directional which means it will only pick up audio from directly in front of it. this also helps eliminate extra room noise coming through on your live chat microphone.

My Final Opinion on The A40TR Headset

This set of headphones from Astro Gaming is among the best audio solutions you can get as a gamer. They do a great job of simulating surround sound in both movies and games while also producing a very clean sounding chat mic.

The MixAmp Pro TR is perfect not just for audiophiles but for live streamers who want lag-free and interference free operation. The MixAmp allows you to control every input and output so that you can fine tune everything to your specific recording setup. If you are in the market for a headset this is the pair to get.

<Official XRP Rating 4.5
Red Buy Now

Check Out Xbox One Headphones at Amazon

Too low to display
(as of 23-03-2017 15:23:28 UTC - Details)
$129.99
(as of 21-02-2017 12:22:12 UTC - Details)
$60.00
(as of 21-12-2016 00:22:17 UTC - Details)
$59.99
(as of 21-02-2017 04:20:53 UTC - Details)

Product Details

  • Domestic Shipping: Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S. and to APO/FPO addresses. For APO/FPO shipments, please check with the manufacturer regarding warranty and support issues.
  • International Shipping: This item can be shipped to select countries outside of the U.S. Learn More
  • ASIN: B014H2T84K
  • Product Dimensions: 13.8 x 9.1 x 4.3 inches ; 4.5 pounds
  • Media: Video Game
  • Release Date: October 8, 2015

Customer Reviews

A good all-in-one solution for gaming.

89 people found this helpful.
 on December 28, 2015
By nightshade
Firstly, I wanted to spend some time with this product because this is my first Astro product of any kind. I picked this up on a black Friday sale from Amazon because I really wanted the mixamp TR, but the price was very good for the A40 headset. Before I go over my pros and cons, I wanted to give a quick background of headsets I have and how the A40 compares to those headsets. For comparison purposes I mostly used wired headsets through the Mixamp TR with the exception of using a Sony Gold wireless headset to compare just the A40 without the mixamp. The headsets I used with the mixamp are the Kingston Hyper X Cloud II’s, Audio Technica M50x’s, Sony Gold’s, and the Turtle Beach 420x. In my subjective versus mode, I found that the A40 with the mixamp (after a few custom eqs) was slightly better than the Sony Golds and much better than the TB 420x. With regards to the Cloud II’s, the mixamp really has more room to push the 53mm drivers of the Cloud II’s and the M50x’s simply have a more defined soundstage than the A40’s. To be fair, the A40’s do not claim to be a hifi audiophile headset and in turn, these game just fine with comfort, quality, and durability. Out of the box I did have to totally redo my eq settings, otherwise I would have gotten immediate buyers remorse. Here are my pros and cons in my experience with the A40 and Mixamp TR.

Excellent 7.1 audio, open back ear cups, and hidden Sidetone (mic monitor) feature

5 people found this helpful.
 on October 31, 2016
By J. Ofalla
I’ve been using thes Astro A40 TRs with Mixamp Pro for 2 weeks now. The sound is excellent and I can hear fine detail with the 7.1 audio. I like the open back (open ear cup) design of the A40 headset. I tried using the Turtle Beach XO Four but couldn’t stand the closed ear cup design. I know some people prefer noise isolation but I feel uncomfortable not being able to hear anything outside. I also like to hear myself speak so I was happy to find out there is a feature called “Sidetone” that can be activated using the Windows/Mac software designed to configure the Mixamp via USB. It is disabled by default but with the help of Astro support they explained this setting is made in PC mode then carries over to Console mode.

New Astro Fan…

9 people found this helpful.
 on March 5, 2016
By W. Conrad
I’ve been a turtle beach headset guy for years. I’ve owned probably 4 different turtle beach headsets myself and more than 10 when I include my wife and kids who also game.

Worth Every Penny

5 people found this helpful.
 on October 20, 2016
By Marlon
What a fantastic piece of hardware. I had a turtle beach XO seven pro that I received for Christmas last year. (had it for only 10 months) The chat adapter that plugged into the controller kept dying and forcing my controller to reboot. Then the headset itself eventually died when I lost my left cup sound. Needless to say, I will never purchase Turtle Beach again.

This headset is awesome. I had the ASTRO A50

6 people found this helpful.
 on February 8, 2016
By Matkap3422
Shipped out the same day and was delivered when promised. This headset is awesome. I had the ASTRO A50, which would be my preferred headset if I was gaming from my couch in my living room, but the headset was for my desk, and this setup is hands down the better one for that purpose. The sound is great, the ASTRO command software for the mixamp is simple to use, the headset is just as comfortable as ASTROs should be and the all white w red accent looks amazing.

Awesome sound but some iffy hardware and specs

One person found this helpful.
 on January 5, 2017
By Amazon Customer
I upgraded to these after Christmas from a pair of Turtle Beach XO4 headphones when the price dropped. About a year ago I planned on getting the A40 with the MixAmp M80 as they were on sale at best buy, but decided not to because I had heard about how much of a difference the MixAmp pro TR makes.

Great Product, Lots of Misleading Reviews

One person found this helpful.
 on February 27, 2016
By Amazon Customer
Amazing product. All of the 1 star reviews are very misleading, some say the mic is bad (not at all, I use it for Discord and Streaming everyday and haven’t had a problem with it) also the “audio problems” complaint (I have never experienced a problem with the audio in the daily use of it). With that aside the headset itself if fantastic. The one I have, white ones for XB1, are very sleek and has a nice white with grey and red accents. Note that I only got the XB1 because they are white, you can use ps4 edition with xb1 and xb1 with ps4 AS LONG AS YOU DON’T USE GAME CHAT WITH THE ASTROS. The mic, for being on a gaming headset is pretty good. I have to say that, in my experience, the mic tends to be A LOT better on Windows than Mac OS. I tried to use the old A40s on Mac and my teammates complained about how bad it is, but when I switched to Windows the old ones sounded great. same with the A40 TRs. one last thing, the switchable headband, earcups, and mic are great. so all in all this is a solid buy and I think that the black and white are really nice. mod kits are very helpful and will allow you to block out even more excess noise than the standard noise cancelling earcups that come with it when it ships

Absolutely love this headset I came over from using the turtle …

 on September 24, 2016
By Kealoha
Absolutely love this headset I came over from using the turtle beach xo four , all I can say is , maannnnnnn ! What a step up , me an my five brothers play a decent amount of competitive overwatch an since I’ve gotten these I’ve had countless times where I was a le to hear via footsteps EXACTLY what character was trying to flank us an prevent that surprise attack from happening , granted I understand that some of that comes from my game knowledge of knowing what eachcharacters sound like when they are running, but Ivan assure you I was NOT , hearing these noises in my turtles !! Yes it is a steep price tag for a set a cans fro your gaming rig . And I myself flip flopped for about a year before finally pulling the trigger but I gotta say with the included mix amp the product has paid for itself at this point a mere one month after purchasing.

Muffled is their…but not a bad thing

One person found this helpful.
 on March 16, 2016
By Ryan
OK. This headset is legit. Coming from someone who’s always had $100 dollar or less pair headsets. It’s not for just xbox. It worked on my playstation (and obviously computer). BUT! From the reviews you will notice people complain about the sound being muffled. That my friends, is very true. It does sound alil muffled. AT First. I quickly grew use to it and am now loving these headsets! Idk if their suppose to have the muffleness, it doesn’t matter now. It’s now not even noticed by me. So theirs my review. I know i really hated how muffled they sounded at first. It was a turn off. Completely. But I grew to love them and they DO sound super amazing and it has improved my gaming performance! You know what I mean 😉

Speed Freek Xbox One

ASTRO Gaming A40 TR Headset + MixAmp Pro TR for Xbox One ReviewRed Buy Now

What are your thoughts of the A40 TR’s from Astro Gaming? Let me know in the comments.

Astro Gaming A40 TR Headset Xbox One

Rated 4.5/5 based on 1 review

There are no comments yet, add one below.

Leave a Reply


Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

*