Seagate 2TB Game Drive for Xbox Review | Its Fast and Reliable

Seagate 2TB Game Drive for Xbox Review | Its Fast and Reliable

  • Unboxing & Review: Seagate 2TB Portable 2.5 inch External Hard Drive
  • Seagate 600 Desktop Solid State Hybrid Drives vs SSD vs HDD – Showdown
  • Best Hard Drive for PlayStation 4 & Xbox One!!
  • Seagate Backup Plus USB 3.0 5TB External Hard Drive Unboxing for Xbox One
  • SSD vs. HDD vs. Seagate Hybrid SSHD
  • Seagate Central Review – Compared to WD My Cloud – Network Hard Drive
  • Best USB 3.0 External Hard Drive: WD My Passport Ultra Review
  • Hard Drive Failure Rate Hitachi Vs Western Digital Vs Seagate Comparison
  • SEAGATE DESKTOP SSHD 2TB – ST2000DX001 Benchmark / Performance / Review / Comprehensive tests
  • Make your Xbox One FASTER with the Transcend ESD400 Portable SSD!
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $119.99 $99.99 You save: $20.00 (17%). (as of January 21, 2017 12:39 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Nowadays 500 GB just ain’t cutting for an Xbox One hard drive. We need more disk space so we can store more games and the only way to do that is by adding an external hard drive.

The Seagate 2TB Game Drive for Xbox was created exclusively for Xbox One and Xbox 360. It is super slim, can fit right in your pocket, and can hold about 50 games of so. Of course you could also store music and videos on it as well.

The best part about the Seagate 2TB Game Drive, or any external hard drive, is that you can free up considerable space on your Xbox, reduce the amount of load times for games (because the RPM’s of the drive are faster than the Xbox), and you can take your external drive with you to a friends house.

The Seagate Drive is Easy To Install

The Seagate External Drive has plug-and-play capability offers you instantaneous power up. Your Xbox will automatically detect your drive and walks you through the setup process. It only takes a few minutes.

When you first install it you can put music or videos right on the drive. To install games though you need to format the drive first. I would advise doing this as the first thing you do when you get it.

When you install the drive you will notice you have 1.8 TB of free space and not 2 TB. This is common on all external drives because there are some system files that take up a little bit of space.

Moving Games From Your Hard Drive to the Seagate Drive is Easy

If you have games on your Xbox hard drive and you want to shift them over to the Seagate Game Drive for Xbox its pretty easy. All you need to do is have your Seagate drive plugged in, go to MANAGE GAMES, and then select MOVE.

From there you just need to select your Seagate drive and then the game will move from your Xbox hard drive over to your Seagate external drive.

seagate_2

Note: Large games take a little while to move. Don’t expect instant results.

Take Your Games to Go

You can simply unplug the Seagate Video game Drive and take your whole game library to your friends house. All you need to do is plug in your drive to their USB port and then sign in on their Xbox. Once you do that you can access the games on the drive.

Compatible With Xbox One and Xbox 360

The Seagate Game Drive works with both Xbox One and Xbox 360. It plugs straight into any USB port in your console.

Why I Bought The Seagate Game Drive

At the time my internal Xbox hard drive was at about 65% capacity…mostly filled with huge games like Forza 5, Forza 6, and Project Cars. I needed something to fee up some space. I did research and was considering the Seagate drive and the WD 2TB My Passport X for Xbox One Portable External Hard Drive.

Both drives looked promising and had all 5 Star reviews on Amazon…so to be honest I picked the Seagate because it was exclusively made for the Xbox and it had over 400 5 star reviews. Overall I am extremely happy with it, it works perfectly as advertised, and I have freed up so much space on my internal Xbox drive.

It did make my games load significantly faster also. For example, normally Forza 6 takes roughly 25 seconds to load a race, now a race loads in about 15 seconds or so when I play the game directly from the Seagate drive.

There are other options for larger space if you need it. I ended up getting the 2TB drive, but there is also a 4TB version.

Official XRP Rating 5.0
Red Buy Now

Check Out Xbox One Hard Drives at Amazon

Customer Reviews

Xbox One can use ANY portable hard drive and not just this one

127 people found this helpful.
 on August 24, 2015
By Someone
[Good]

I highly recommend this product not cause it was only designed for …

69 people found this helpful.
 on August 15, 2015
By Noe Bear
I recently purchased this product and delivered in two days if you sign up to Prime Amazon trial anyways this Seagate exclusive 2TB external hard drive really does the job on expanding that extra storage you need on your xbox gaming console. It works very well at a speed of 5,400 rpm. I got to say that within 2 to 3 minutes you’ll be able to complete a transfer of a 21GB game size. I highly recommend this product not cause it was only designed for xbox, but it’s performance.

True "plug and save!" I love it!! Great expansion drive for my One!!!!

139 people found this helpful.
 on August 11, 2015
By Eric A. Hofstetter
So I just received the drive. It’s great.. what more can be said about a 2TB drive for my Xbox One… that makes it now TWICE the size as the most current Xbox One? Would I rather it be internal… heck yeah! But this is THE next best thing! True plug and save! Connection made, asked to format to a One or a 360, and finally wanted to know if this is now primary saving drive. That is it. I love the color AND the branding on this little guy. Fits neatly in the palm of your hand; means in a pocket just as easily if traveling to another Xbox One for some friendly gaming elsewhere. This is a no brainer folks. If your drive is getting full… this is it! Or go buy a new Xbox One… and have a little more space. But you would have a NEW Xbox One! Nice!! *(drive is actual 1.8TB of space/ see last picture when done and ready for use)

Great companion to the XBOX 360!

14 people found this helpful.
 on August 25, 2015
By Jeffrey in Paradise
Great companion drive to the XBOX 360. Works great to install your 360 games and avoid the spinning DVD drive. Games seem to load as fast as when they were installed on the internal drive also (I can’t tell the difference). Now I can install all my games instead of just a few (given the smaller size of the internal 250GB drive of my XBOX 360). Cheers!

Only storage to use for Xbox One

6 people found this helpful.
 on August 13, 2016
By Angel Pletcher
I bought this as a gift for my boyfriend. He absolutely loves it. Despite having found a cheaper product he was happy to have this one because it is specifically made for Xbox. The Xbox One has little storage and you are required to do wall games in order to play them. This product has given him the ability to download and play all his favorite games. Fast shipping and exactly as described.

I have always loved the system – but been a bit disappointed with …

20 people found this helpful.
 on August 22, 2015
By Christopher G. Collins
Having been a day one XBO purchaser, I have always loved the system – but been a bit disappointed with the amount of storage that 500GB turned out to offer. This is a total game changer. Takes about 30 seconds to set up and then you have 2.5 TB to install the best games on the best system out there. Super happy and completely recommend this great product.

Portable Gaming Storage To Go

23 people found this helpful.
 on August 9, 2015
By 4EverYoung
This is my second Seagate product in as little as six months, and as storage drives go it’s pretty good.

So easy to set up and works well with the Xbox …

4 people found this helpful.
 on August 22, 2016
By cmoulton
So easy to set up and works well with the Xbox One. We needed extra storage very quickly with getting the Xbox One and all the updates that the games have attached to them dispite buying the discs and this is a great way to solve the problem. Although I do wish it came with more TB just because I can already tell with the way games are going that you’ll need it eventually but for now this has plenty of space.

Great, easy to set up

15 people found this helpful.
 on January 5, 2016
By Cesar C.
Great. Takes ten seconds to set up and gives you 1.8 tb. For those of you who can’t get it to work for games, there was a screen when you first plugged it in that looked like the one in the photo.

Plug and play to free up space

7 people found this helpful.
 on July 25, 2016
By Candim
Super easy plug and play with the Xbox, and styled to look great with it. Once unpacked and plugged in to the USB port my xbox instantly recognized it and asked me to either use it for media or to format it for games. Once formatted it asked if I would like to make it the default location for game installs. Once that was finished I decided to move all the games on the internal drive to this one, which was easy to do from the game/app screen. I now have 72% of free space on the internal and only used roughly 25% of this drive with 30+ games on it. Great purchase for someone who has a lot of games or media for xbox.

Get The Seagate 2TB Game Drive for Xbox

Seagate 2TB DriveRed Buy Now

Have you tried an external drive with your X Box One? If so let me know what your experience is and which external drive you use in the comments below.

Seagate 2TB Game Drive for Xbox

Rated 5/5 based on 1 review

There are no comments yet, add one below.

Leave a Reply


Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

*