WD 2TB My Passport X for Xbox One Review | Perfect for Freeing Up Space

WD 2TB My Passport X for Xbox One Review | Perfect for Freeing Up Space

  • Increase your Xbox One Storage Space with WD Elements 2TB Drive
  • Xbox One Hard Drive Upgrade
  • UNBOXING WD Passport X for Xbox One [HD]
  • How To Add 2TB to Your Xbox One with Seagate Game Drive!
  • Installing Xbox one Xbone X1 External Hard Drive HDD Microsoft Installation WD Passport 2TB USB Powe
  • Best Hard Drive for PlayStation 4 & Xbox One!!
  • How to use an external hard drive with Xbox One
  • WD My Passport X – 2TB Hard Drive (Optimized For Xbox One/PC Gaming)
  • External 2TB USB HDD: XBox 360 How To
  • How to Add an External Hard Drive to the Xbox One
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $129.99 $97.99 You save: $32.00 (25%). (as of February 24, 2017 4:45 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

An external hard drive is a necessity these days considering the size of games and the Xbox One only comes with a max 500 GB hard drive. The Western Digital 2TB My Passport X external drive is a GREAT choice to free up space on your Xbox.

The WD My Passport X drive for Xbox One is slightly smaller than the 2TB Xbox One drive by Seagate, but it not as slim. Functionality wise, these two drives are very similar though.

The My Passport X game drive will allow you to free up alot of space on your Xbox internal drive by transferring your games over. An added benefit is that games on you WD external drive will actually load a few seconds faster. This drive is also portable so it’s easy to unplug and bring your games over to your friends houses.

The WD My Passport X Drive is Easy To Install

The Western Digital drive has plug-and-play functionality and fast power up.

When you first install it you will need to walk through the formatting process before you can store anything on it.

Also worth noting, when you hook up the drive you will have 1.8 TB of free space and not 2 TB. This is common on all external drives because there are some system files that take up a little bit of space.

Moving Games From Your Hard Drive to the WD is Easy

If you have games on your internal drive taht you want to shift over to the WD My Passport X drive its a really simple process. You just need to have your WD drive plugged in, go to MANAGE GAMES, and then select MOVE.

After that you just select the WD My Passport X Drive and then the selected games will automatically move from your internal hard drive onto your external drive.

WD 2TB Drive

You can store music, videos, or games on your WD drive. If you have a 2TB drive it will hold about 50 games total depending on the size of the games of course.

Note: Large games take a little while to move. Don’t expect instant results.

Portable

It’s super easy to unplug your drive and take your game library with you to their house. To hook it up to another Xbox you just need to hook it up to the USB drive and sign in. After you sign in, you can access the drive.

WD My Passport X 2TB Drive Review – Wrap Up

This drive is extremely well received at Amazon with 5 stars and over 200 reviews. While I chose to purchase the Seagate 2TB Game drive, I heavily considered this WD drive.

From all of my research which included videos, reading articles, and consumer reviews from what I can tell the Western Digital Drive is a solid product and people love it. People consider this drive to be a lifesaver and you will be hard pressed to find any negative info about it.

If you were in the market for an external hard drive the WD My Passport X is a great option and is on par with it’s main competitor the Seagate Game Drive.

Official XRP Rating 5.0
Red Buy Now

Check Out Xbox One Hard Drives at Amazon

Customer Reviews

Purchased for my Xbox one…

50 people found this helpful.
 on May 23, 2015
By D.Man
I bought this at a brick and mortar store for 99 dollars. I purchased it for my Xbox one. It was extremely easy to setup in the settings menu on the Xbox.

Necessity for any Xbox One owners

44 people found this helpful.
 on August 26, 2015
By Karson178
Anyone who owns an Xbox One can attest to the irritation of having to install every game you want to play on the hard drive that comes with very limited space. This is the perfect answer to keep adding games to your collection without having to either sweat it out over which games live or die on your hard drive or play russian roulette with your currently installed games to make room for a new one. With 2 TB of space added on, I can comfortable install all my games with plenty of room to spare. This page, and other reviewers, said that after you plugged in the external drive that the Xbox One detected it and put instructions on the screen to follow so you could use it. I did not get this prompting and had to suss out how to manually set up the drive:

Great Drive. Some Comparisons Of Passport Ultra to the X Included.

12 people found this helpful.
 on June 4, 2016
By Trojan Jon
Excellent drive, using it on my Xbox 360. Good speed on USB 3.0 (see attached pic). I’ve had great reliability from other WD portable HDD’s, so expecting the same here. LED is very bright and blinks slow and steady when in standby, but a small piece of black electrical tape takes care of that.

Average gamer review

20 people found this helpful.
 on June 17, 2015
By Nathaniel Howard
Very good product. Easy setup as it is made specially for Xbox or PC. My Xbox one recognized the drive immediately and just followed the steps to format. Plenty of storage there is 1.7-1.9T (can’t remember exactly) available for user to actually use one the drive. Drive is quiet, many consumer have had issues with the blinking light which is quite bright in a dark room but if you just place it so the light is covered or cover it with tape it’s no problem. I placed mine so the light is blocked by the Xbox power cable so it doesn’t bother me. Will update review and I continue use of drive.

Great For Xbox One & It Matches It’s Design

20 people found this helpful.
 on May 8, 2015
By Cunningham1420
Purchased this hdd disc for my brothers XB1 for his birthday and the design they chose matches that of the XB1 perfectly. This hard drive functions and performs as advertised. Only reason i didn’t give it 5 stars was because Western Digital opted to put 5400rpm in this unit instead of the 7200rpm like in there off brand hdd the Turro. Personally both are great hard drives and are made by the same company but my money is still on the Turo 7200 rpm hdd disc since there is a noticeable difference in game load & install times vs the 5400rpm versions.

Every Xbox One NEEDS this. A must buy for XBOX ONE GAMERS.

10 people found this helpful.
 on August 16, 2015
By J. Wilichoski
This thing solved the problem I’ve been having with my xbox one since day one, uninstalling games just to be able to play a new one. Before I got this I had about 9 games installed on my xbox one and it was full with only 2GB free space left. I hooked this thing into the back USB port of my xbox one and withing 60 seconds my xbox one went from 9 games installed 2GB Free to 1.8TB Free. Now I no longer have to unistalling games. No longer have to worry about how much space I have left. Now over 50 games can be installed on my xbox one at the same time which is only possible with this product. Very satisfied. I you play more than 8 games on your xbox one than this is a must buy. No xbox one should be without it gamers.

Not worth the MSRP, get it cheaper or avoid it

28 people found this helpful.
 on April 18, 2015
By pork savant
Passport X was just released a couple weeks ago, and Amazon has been offering it for $99, which is $40 under MSRP. At $99, this is an ok buy, but it’s much less so at $139. This is the first drive I’ve connected to the XB1, so I can’t tell you if it’s faster than other cheaper “non-gamer” models that have been on the market for a while, but it seems ok, not mind blowing. This drive doesn’t come pre-loaded with backup software that other externals do, but since the drive is reformatted by the XB1 when you first plug it in I don’t really think that it even matters whether there’s existing software on the drive or not. The plug and play capability is nice, but again, I’m pretty sure that is not a feature unique to this drive. Since Western Digital doesn’t mention exactly why this drive is beneficial to gamers, I have to suspect if this isn’t just a normal external from another line with a case that matches the XB1 and a daring “X” slapped on it offered at an inflated list price.

Simply the best option for external storage on an Xbox One

9 people found this helpful.
 on June 10, 2015
By Tas
Any external drive is going to be useful in speeding up the performance of your Xbox One (however slight), but the My Passport X has been specifically tailored to optimize load times of games and apps that get installed to it. Furthermore, loading them off of the My Passport X leaves more juice for the Xbox One to keep a grip on its 3 operating systems to run said games or apps.

Great Xbox 1 external hard drive.

 on January 10, 2017
By L. Henning
Purchased for my grandson for his Xbox 1 for Christmas. He opened the gift and immediately hooked up the hard drive and was downloading

Get The WD My Passport X 2TB Drive for Xbox One

WD 2TB My Passport X for Xbox One ReviewRed Buy Now

Have you tried an external drive as an addition on your Xbox console? If so let me know what your experience is and which external drive you use in the comments below.

WD 2TB My Passport X External Drive for Xbox One

Rated 5/5 based on 1 review

There are no comments yet, add one below.

Leave a Reply


Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

*